Sunday, 19 January 2014

25 Children to be Conferred National Bravery Awards

Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh
Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh will confer the National Bravery Awards to 25 young children this year on the eve of Republic Day. Among the awardees 9 are girls. Five awards will be given posthumously. 

Announcing this at a press conference organised at Indian Council for Child Welfare, New Delhi, Mrs Gita Siddhartha, President, ICCW, said that the coveted Bharat Award has been conferred on 8 ½ year old Kumari Mahika Gupta of Delhi who saved her brother from floods at Kedarnath (Uttarakhand). 

The prestigious Geeta Chopra Award has been conferred to 16 year old Kumari Maleka Singh Tak of Rajasthan who displayed rare grit and determination in fighting off her molesters. 

The Sanjay Chopra Award has been given to 17 year old Master Shubam Santosh Chaudari of Maharashtra who saved two children when their school van caught fire. 

Master Sanjay Navasu Sutar (17 ½ years) of Maharashtra, Master Akshay Jairam Roj (13 years) of Maharashtra, Late Kum. Mausmi Kashyap (11 years) of Uttar Pradesh and Late Master Aryan Raj Shukla (14 years) of Uttar Pradesh have been given the Bapu Gaidhani Awards.

 Master Akshay Rairam Roj and Master Sanjay Navasu Sutar displayed outstanding courage in fighting a leopard. Late Kumari Mausmi Kashyap and Later Master Aryan Raj Shukla sacrificed their lives while trying to save others from drowning. 

Other recipients are Kumari Shilpa Sharma (Himachal Pradesh), Master Sagar Kashyap (New Delhi), Master Abhishek Ekka (Chattisgarh), Master S.S. Manoj (Karnataka), Master Subin Mathew, Master Akhil Biju and Master Yadhukrishnan V. S. (all from Kerala), Master Saurbh Chandel (Madhya Pradesh), Kumari Tanvi Nandkumar Ovhal and Master Rohit Ravi Janmanchi (Maharashtra), Master Kangleinganba Kshetrimayum, Kumari Kharibam Gunichand Devi and Later Master M. Khayingthei (all from Manipur), Master Vanlalhruaia, Kumari Remlalhruaitluangi, late Kumari Malsawmtluangi and Kumari Hani Ngurdinthari (all from Mizoram) and Late Master L. Manio Chachei (Nagaland). 

The children will receive their Awards from the Honble Prime Minister of India prior to Republic Day 2014 and will participate in the Republic Day Parade. The awardees will receive a medal, certificate and cash. Recipients will also be granted financial assistance until they complete their schooling. 

The Hon’ble President of India and several other dignitaries including Raksha Mantri will host reception in their honour. Several states too organise functions to honour them at State Level. 

Since the inception of the scheme in 1957, the Indian Council for Child Welfare has given awards to 871 brave Children- comprising 618 boys and 253 girls. 

You May Also Like


Popular posts